I'm driving home from Target making a u-turn I've made a million times before. There are signs posted at this particular intersection that indicate u-turns are illegal. But I've never had any trouble. So I pull into the inside lane to make the u-turn, im last in a line of people doing the same thing and now I'm driving north in the middle of three lanes on Bruce B Downs, not 3 minutes from home.
On flash his lights, no sirens, and my first thought is that he needs to pass me so as green as the light has become, I sit still. Seconds pass and he doesnt move so I pull over and start fishing for license, registration, and insurance. Its a busy street so he comes to the passenger side door and he's not a happy guy.
When he asked why I think he pulled me over I say I'm really not sure, which is somewhat true: I wasnt the first to make that turn and I probably wasnt the last. He takes my info and comes back 4 minutes later (I timed it). 120 bucks and 3 points, neither of which I can particularly afford. Awesome.
Two things zipped through my head that I was tempted to ask after getting the ticket.
"Officer, do you think there is justice in the world?"
"Drive careful."
Neither of which I said.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)

No comments:
Post a Comment